Teasers & thoughts

In this email...

  • A note from me

  • I'm just a tease

  • Quick question

  • Behind the scenes of what I'm working on right now

Playing hooky

I'm a slacker. I skipped making a newsletter around the tenth, so that means you'll only be getting two newsletters from me this month. If you're cheering about that, let me know--nicely--because I'm open to doing this less frequently if it's what you all prefer.

Hope everyone is having a good April so far! Mine has been BUSY between the husband's birthday, family stuff, and Easter break, I've barely had any downtime. What I do have has been spent outdoors. AND writing Heartbreak Like This because what can I say? I'm OBSESSED with Sarah and Joel! (Keep scrolling for a funny little teaser).

P.S. Have you ever wondered what would have happened if certain characters had done things a little differently in my books? Well stay tuned for my next newsletter where I'll feature a What If alternate scene for one of my books!

I'm just a tease!

At least that's what my reader team likes to tell me! I have a lot of fun teasing what I'm writing & what's coming, but I'm keeping it all super simple and just sharing a few snippet quotes today. First up... Heartbreak Like This

Rae lets out a long breath, then squints at me. “You’re growing a beard?”

I shrug. “Seemed like a fun idea. Did A tell you Trev set up a group chat for it? We all send pictures of our beards every day to see who grows a good one first.”

“Wow. You guys are such nerds.”

“Aaron’s winning.”

She grins. “Of course he is. He started first. And for a blond, he’s pretty good at growing a beard. How’s Jesse doing with it?”

I bite back a laugh. “Not great.”

“Dani called it.”

“Yeah. I don’t think he’s going to win this one. Although, we haven’t decided yet if Miles loses purely because he refuses to participate.”

“Can you picture him with a beard, though? His jaw could cut a steak. Why cover it up?”

I laugh at that. “Does your husband know your feelings about Miles’s jawline?”

She shrugs. “Doesn’t matter. He’d agree with me. You don’t hide a jaw that sharp.” I roll my eyes and we both laugh.

Rae & Joel- Heartbreak Like This

Next up... when you meet a hot guy on a plane and your girls can't decide if he's a serial killer or your future husband.

Grabbing my bag, I pull both my phone and my Kindle out, only for my phone to vibrate as I do. Looking at it, I see I have a plethora of missed texts in my group chat with Hallie and Kennedy. And a missed video chat request. Whoops.

Instead of reading all the texts they’ve sent me, I scroll down and look at the last few.

Kennedy: You should be there by now!

Hallie: If Frannie is lying in a shallow grave and the killer is reading this… just know, I will find you.

Kennedy: If you don’t answer in the next five minutes, I’m calling the police. Maybe the FBI.

Hallie: And Jack Bauer!

Sighing, I shake my head. Thankfully, I haven’t met Kennedy’s deadline yet.

I click on the button to video chat with them and wait for their answer.

“Oh! Look, Kend! She’s alive,” Hallie says as she and Kennedy pop up on the screen in individual chat bubbles.

Kennedy tilts her head back and forth. “And I don’t see any signs of being held against her will.”

“I’m not being held against my will. I’m here in my hotel room, alone.” I get up and spin the camera so they can see a full view before sitting back down on the bed. “See? All good. So no need to go all Taken or contact Kiefer Sutherland’s alter ego. ’Kay?”

“I suppose,” Kennedy says.

“So, where’s the hottie? Is he there? Give me a glimpse!” Hallie says as Kennedy rolls her eyes.

“He’s not here. I just told you I’m alone. He dropped me off at my room.”

“Ooh, walked you to your room, huh?” Hallie asks.

“Yes.”

“Did he carry your bags too?” Kennedy asks.

“He rolled my suitcase behind him.”

“Ooh. We’re definitely leaning toward soul mates now,” Hallie says as Kennedy nods in agreement.

Frannie- The Last Lie

Finally, what happens when you have feelings for your BFF, but instead of telling her, you start teasing her, then convince her to share a bed with you, and you wake up like this...

Now she’s lying in my arms wearing a shirt with my last name on it. There’s nothing hotter. And my dick has gotten the message. My hard-on is now pressing into her ass, and I’d be worried, but worst case, I can just pretend I’m asleep if she notices.

After a yawn, I pull her closer and close my eyes again, imagining what it would be like to act on my desires. Maybe I’ll drift off and dream about it.

Then Kennedy groans and pushes her ass into my rock hard dick. 

My heart stops for a second. Is she awake or asleep? There’s no good way for me to find out without getting handsy—which I won’t ever do. We’re not in a relationship, and I have no idea if she’d be comfortable with me touching her, so beyond where my arm is wrapped around her, I won’t do that. Not wanting to ruin the moment, I relax and let this play out.

She groans again and rolls her perfect ass over my cock.

Don’t thrust your hips.

She whimpers, and I almost lose it.

Then she lets out a breathy “oh” and I actually think she might be awake.

My dick is painfully hard, and if she presses into it again, I’m worried I’ll come. Since I’m only wearing boxers, that would be evident, and I don’t want to make this awkward.

Leaning in toward her, I wrap my arm tighter around her waist. “Kennedy?”

She’s quiet for a moment, then slowly rolls over, blinking.

“Hi.”

“Morning,” I say, voice as thick as my cock which is still pressing against her.

She looks down.

Right at it.

Direct eye contact.

Devon- The Last Key

Quick question(s)

So, there's a lot of conversation in the author community lately about Amazon and how they have done some authors VERY dirty. In case you don't know, in order to have our books in Kindle Unlimited, we cannot sell (or offer for free) our books elsewhere, not even our own sites. Recently, Amazon has terminated author accounts because of their books being on pirate sites (out of our control) and even crazier for being linked to previously terminated KDP accounts even though they weren't! Given that most of my readership comes from KU page reads, it's a little scary what I could lose if that happened to me. BUT it's not just about me, it's about you, my wonderful readers (please do not go run and cancel your KU subscription, this hurts the indies on there even more). I have a short survey here to get a feel for how you all would like to read my books!

Behind the scenes with me

Want to know what I'm working on right now? Listening to? Reading? What's rumbling around in my head? Well, I'm going to tell you anyway!

  • Currently working on: Heartbreak Like This

  • Currently distracting me from those things: Not too much, honestly. I'm in deep with this one.

  • Currently reading: Heart of Thieves by my author pal Penn Wilder!

  • Currently listening to: Say You Swear audiobook by Meagan Brandy

If you want more fun behind the scenes info, make sure you join my FB reader group! It's where we talk about books, romance, my characters & their love stories, and where I share random unedited snippets of what I'm working on and other fun teases! And this year there might be an exclusive giveaway or two as well!

Hope you're all doing well. I promise more exciting things will be coming in my next newsletter, but until then, take care and happy reading!