Miles Hyun-Hansen is here!

šŸ’›Fall in love with Miles and Amelia šŸ’›

Miles and Amelia are here! I canā€™t wait for you to fall head over heels for Miles Hyun-Hansen. Keep reading for a snippet of the first chapter (and Milesā€™s epic swooniness).

surprise pregnancy ā€¢ he falls first ā€¢ anxiety rep ā€¢
healing from loss and trauma ā€¢ learning to love and trust

I had a plan:

Live my life.

Find my person.

Build a future together.

Then Amelia Davis walked into my life and I went from never the same girl twice to absolutely gone for her. But before we could make it official, we became three.

Now weā€™re trying to navigate becoming parents before being a couple, and Iā€™m trying to stay in control and keep my anxiety from taking over.

Amelia is the girl of my dreams, but between pregnancy and the trauma of her past, itā€™s a constant fight to get her to trust me, let me in, and believe in the future I know we can have.

I knew when I found love Iā€™d do anything to keep it safe and make it last. Though Iā€™m learning thatā€™s harder than I thought it would be, thereā€™s nothing that will stop me from giving Amelia the love she deserves and building a beautiful family with her and our babyā€”not even the walls surrounding Ameliaā€™s bruised heart.

Available on Amazon and Kindle Unlimited

Itā€™s been a minuteā€¦

I've been hiding out for the last few weeks. Between vacation, sickness, three birthdays, and more sickness, I took some time away from newsletters and social media, but Iā€™m back again to celebrate Miles and Amelia!

Also, I want to take a minute to welcome anyone new and say thank you to all of you! Stuff Your E-reader led to an insane amount of downloads, sales, and page reads, and ultimately several personal goals smashed.

I have so much gratitude for all of you. I truly couldnā€™t do this without your support, so thank you.

A sneak peek at Family Like Thisā€¦

To add a little extra hype, hereā€™s an excerpt of the first chapter of Family Like This

Miles

Deep breath. In and out.

My chest is so tight I can barely do that.

In and out.

ā€œMiles?ā€ Ameliaā€™s voice cuts through my internal panic.

I look down at her. She looks exhausted. Her skin is pale and gray. Her eyes are filled with uncertainty.

She needs me.

Get it together. She. Needs. Me.

The tightness in my chest lessens enough to get a deep breath, then another. Reaching down, I take her hands in mine. ā€œSorry. Tell me what happened. How did you find out?ā€

How the fucking hell did this happen? I know that is not the right thing to ask right now, though. Grow up in a house with more women than men, and a mother who is commanding but also a therapist? Yeah, you learn when to hold your tongue.

She sighs, maybe out of relief, and looks around.

ā€œYou need to sit,ā€ I say before she answers me, grabbing her water and guiding her to the couch.

When weā€™re both sitting, I look at her again, and after a sip of water, she meets my gaze.

ā€œI told you I was going to the doctor today. She was concerned when I told her I was feeling worse despite her not seeing any signs of a sinus infection. I was already worried about that because my sinus issues had been clearing up, but I just didnā€™t feel good. Headache, run down, fatigue. I brought up the pain Iā€™d been having.ā€

ā€œWhat pain? You mentioned it earlier, but didnā€™t explain.ā€

ā€œUterine pain. It comes and goes throughout the day, and itā€™s gotten worse over the last week.ā€

ā€œBut you said youā€™ve had that for months.ā€

ā€œYeah. It started about a month after I got my IUD. Conveniently, shortly after a period with really hard cramps. Apparently, that can cause an IUD to move out of place. A key symptom of that is uterine pain. And a side effect of having the IUD out of place? You can get pregnant.ā€

ā€œShit.ā€ I reach for her, my hand resting over her stomach as the reality sets in. Weā€™re going to have a baby. Well, maybeā€¦

I meet her gaze and find she has tears in her eyes. ā€œIā€™m sorry.ā€

ā€œItā€™s not your fault. You had no idea. We both made the choice not to use other protection. You donā€™t get pregnant without help, Amelia. You need a penis. Or at the very least a turkey baster. Maybe, on occasion, an act of God.ā€ I give her a small smile. ā€œWhat are you thinking?ā€

ā€œI want to keep it,ā€ she blurts out. ā€œI always wanted to be a mom one day. I didnā€™t think it would be now, or like this, but I want to do it. You donā€™t have to be involvedā€”ā€

ā€œAre you kidding me? This is my child. There is no world in which I would ever walk away from you or our baby. From this moment on, weā€™re a team. Weā€™re in this together. Iā€™ve still got a few weeks left of school, but after that, Iā€™ll be back here, and Iā€™ll be at your beck and call. Whatever you need. You have the hard job, but Iā€™ll be here to support you however I canā€”however you want me to be. No matter what, Iā€™m in. All in.ā€

She sniffs, then blows out a shaky breath. ā€œI never cry. Fucking hormones already.ā€

I run my hand up her thigh. ā€œHave you told anyone else?ā€

She shakes her head. ā€œNo one else to tell.ā€

ā€œWhat about Dani? Your mom? I thought you two were close.ā€

A look of pure anguish washes over her face. ā€œI need to tell you something.ā€

ā€œAnything.ā€

ā€œMy momā€¦ she isnā€™t really my mom anymore.ā€ She sniffs again, but thereā€™s no stopping her tears. I move closer, wrapping an arm around her back.

ā€œWhat do you mean?ā€

ā€œA couple of years ago, my mom was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimerā€™s and some other mental health conditions. Sheā€™d started acting strangely, forgetting where she was, and struggling with speech. It was the paranoia that pushed me to get her checked out, though. She lives in a nursing home now. Some days she doesnā€™t know who I am, some days she thinks Iā€™m her dead mother haunting her, some days she thinks Iā€™m out to get her, and occasionally, she has good days where sheā€™s almost like her normal selfā€”but the mom who raised me is gone.ā€

She chokes back tears and my heart breaks for her.

ā€œAnd youā€™ve been dealing with all of that alone?ā€

She shrugs. ā€œMy dad didnā€™t have any siblings, and my mom had a rough upbringing, so she cut off contact with her two siblings before I was born. Her dad left when she was a kid and her momā€™s dead. My dadā€™s parents are both gone. There is no one else. No other family. Just me.ā€

I shake my head, sliding my hand into her hair and looking into her eyes.

ā€œYouā€™re not alone anymore. You have a family now, because you have me. No matter what.ā€

Donā€™t forget to grab the Family Like This playlist!

This one will give you all the šŸ˜Ā šŸ˜Ā 

Behind the scenes with me

Want to know what I'm working on right now? Listening to? Reading? What's rumbling around in my head? Well, I'm going to tell you anyway!

  • Currently working on: Finishing up Friends Like This book 8

  • Currently distracting me from those things: Just getting back on track with life.

  • Currently reading: Nothing at the moment, but while I was sick I binge read (and loved) the entire Chestnut Springs series by Elsie Silver.

  • Currently listening to: Pucking Around audiobook. I love listening to my fave books and this one is great on audio!

If you want more fun behind the scenes info, make sure you join my FB reader group, Bethanyā€™s Book Besties! It's where we talk about books, romance, my characters & their love stories, and where I share random unedited snippets of what I'm working on and other fun teases! And this year there might be an exclusive giveaway or two as well!

Until next time, take care & happy readingā€¦