Get ready for Heartbreak + a GIVEAWAY!

Heartbreak Like This is OUT NOW!

Part two of Sarah & Joel’s story (and the start of their HEA) is OUT NOW! I am so excited for you all to experience all the twists and turns on this emotional roller coaster! So much angst, swooning, heartache, healing, and love ahead! This one even comes with a bonus novella (find it at the end of the book!) Keep reading for a snippet from the first chapter of Heartbreak Like This…

Chapter One preview…

Happy Birthday

Sarah

Joel squeezes my hand tightly as we step out of the auditorium. Bright sun hits immediately, hurting my eyes, but I don’t care. I can’t care about anything else. It’s my twenty-first birthday and I just freaking graduated from college! I’m proud as hell of myself, and I’m excited to spend the rest of the day celebrating with the people I love most.

Joel leans over and kisses my head. “I’m insanely proud of you.”

“Thank you. I can’t wait to go celebrate.”

“Me either. I intend to spoil you today.”

“As opposed to all the other days?” I ask, laughing, but I stop abruptly when I see her again. That little blonde-haired girl. The ghost of me. “Oh my god. It’s her again.”

“Who?”

Time to find out if I’m insane.

I rip my gaze from the girl and look at Joel. “Can you see her?”

He looks at me like I’m nuts. “Yes, I can see her, you weirdo. Why?”

Phew. “Right. Sorry. I saw her earlier, and I thought I was hallucinating. She looks—”

“Just like you. Wow. She really does.”

“Right?”

The little girl tugs on the pant leg of the man standing next to her, and in a split second a whirlwind hits me.

The man and woman in front of the little girl are arguing with Mom, Dad, and Grandpa. Grandpa looks angrier than I’ve ever seen him, and I know.

Why today? Why today of all the fucking days? I thought I did the right thing burning that letter, but clearly, I burned the one warning shot. Now the war is here.

Joel looks at me, but then the man turns around, and I see the last thing I’m expecting.

Shaggy blond hair and a familiar smile. A smile that I’d recognize anywhere because I see it in the mirror every goddamn day.

My chest tightens. This can’t be happening.

He has another little girl in his arms with deep brown hair and brown eyes. She looks to be about three. Just the right age to be the baby she was pregnant with when I cut her out of my life.

“What the hell?” I mutter, squeezing Joel’s hand.

I feel like I stepped into an alternate reality.

The conversation stops when Mom and Dad see us.

Slowly, she turns around, and my breath hitches. Of course she’s here, ruining what should be one of the best days of my life.

“Vanessa,” I hiss.

Her long light brown hair swishes behind her as she looks at me, smiling an almost devious smile. It shouldn’t surprise me, but it does. This woman burned my life to the ground and shattered me, and here she is on the day of my college graduation to start another fire.

Feel all the things with the Heartbreak Like This playlist!

As usual, I have a playlist that captures ALL the feels of this story. It’s my second longest playlist so far and one of my favorites! You can check it out below!

Did someone say GIVEAWAY???

🏖☀️KU Steamy Summer Fest Giveaway☀️🏖

Join a group of amazing authors partnering for this steamy summer giveaway!

One Grand Prize Winner will receive a $150 Amazon Gift Card!

Runner up will receive a ticket to Lust in the Lowcountry Romancecon and an item off their Amazon wishlist!

Giveaway will close on 08/31/2023 at 11:59pm EST

PLEASE NOTE BY ENTERING INTO THIS GIVEAWAY YOU ARE AGREEING TO RECEIVE NEWSLETTERS FROM ALL PARTICIPATING AUTHORS INVOLVED.

Behind the scenes with me

Want to know what I'm working on right now? Listening to? Reading? What's rumbling around in my head? Well, I'm going to tell you anyway!

  • Currently working on: Ah, I still can’t reveal the details, but you might find the answer in Heartbreak Like This 😉 

  • Currently distracting me from those things: No distractions allowed right now!

  • Currently reading: Nothing due to my TIGHT deadline. But I’m currently WATCHING season 3 of Sweet Magnolias during any free moment I have. Is anyone else as obsessed with Ty and Annie as I am????

  • Currently listening to: The audiobook of Secret Puck by Rebecca Jenshak

If you want more fun behind the scenes info, make sure you join my FB reader group, Bethany’s Book Besties! It's where we talk about books, romance, my characters & their love stories, and where I share random unedited snippets of what I'm working on and other fun teases! And this year there might be an exclusive giveaway or two as well!

Are you ready for Sarah & Joel’s HEA and the emotional ride they’ll take to get there?? Are you as obsessed with the small town vibes of Sweet Magnolias as me? ALSO who else is ready for fall?? Feel free to answer all or none of those by responding to this email. 💘