Fall in Love with Another Wilkinson Brother

The Forever Fight is out now!

I can't wait for everyone to finally read Jesse's HEA. If you're new here, his story is a standalone, though you do see a good amount of him in the Friends Like This series. If you're interested in a swoony, snarky frenemies to lovers small-town romance, Jesse and Dani's story is for you.

In case I haven't sold you on that yet, keep reading for a snippet of the first chapter!

Life lesson number one: never fall for a smooth talker. Not for the charming guy who can flash a smile and make the world melt. They will suck you into their world, make you think they care, and then fuck up your heart.

Or in my case, they’ll say all the right things, convince you they love you, propose, then suddenly decide they never wanted to get married.

Now that you’re up to speed…

“You’re a fucking coward!” I seethe at my fiancé—make that ex-fiancé—Jason.

He says nothing, which only supports my statement.

“You lied to me!”

“I didn’t… lie. I always thought you were pretty, Dani. Sexy. Fun to be around. But I never thought of us as a long-term thing.”

“Then why did you propose?” I yell.

“It seemed like what I was supposed to do. It’s what my family expected of me. What looks better to all those jobs I was interviewing for. I figured I’d give it a shot, but I can’t keep pretending I want this.”

The bitter truth hits.

It’s always been a lie. Every word out of his pretty mouth.

He needed to show he was in a serious relationship to get his trust fund. He needed someone on his arm for all those corporate dinners. All along I’ve been his fake fiancée, he just didn’t bother to mention that to me.

Fuck romance novels. Where’s my happy ending?

That’s another kick in the fucking vagina. He actually is good in bed. Makes me scream and beg and see stars.

Is that why I believed it?

“You couldn’t have told me? You had to string me along?”

Tears threaten, but I channel my inner Elsa and hide it all away.

“I wasn’t—”

I hold my hand up. “I don’t care. If this is over, then you can go.”

He looks at me like I’m nuts, then turns on that charming voice that makes me want to shove a pair of scissors down his throat.

“Dani, baby, this is my condo.”

“Call me baby again, and you won’t be leaving with your balls attached to your body. And seriously? I decorated this place.” Well, as much as he would let me with his bland taste. “I made it a home.” And that part is true. I thought it was a home. Our home. I made it warm and inviting. Cooked meals. Packed his stupid lunch every day. He’d kiss me before he left. Thanks for the lunch. Love ya, baby.

And it was all a lie.

I paid for it.”

“Because you refused to wait to sign the lease until I got home from visiting my family in New York.”

Jesus Christ. He did that on purpose too.

My eyes dart around the condo, taking in the cream walls and expensive leather furniture. It’s modern. And boring. It would never be what I want, anyway. As an interior designer, it was zero fun to design this place—the condo that was supposed to be my home.

Screw this.

He’s talking again, but I’m not listening. I walk to the bedroom, grab my biggest duffel, and pack all my essentials and business stuff.

When I walk back out to the living—sorry, entertaining—area, he rises from the couch, but I ignore him, grab my purse, and aim for the door.

Before I get there, he grabs my arm.

“Dani—”

Glaring at him, I wrench my arm away. “Let go of me. There’s nothing you can—”

“I need my key back.”

I laugh in his face.

“You’ll get your key back when my brother comes to pick up my stuff.”

He yelps at that. Weston isn’t a fighter unless he has to be, but hurt one of his baby sisters and he’ll be thrilled to take out some aggression.

“Bye, Jason.”

I turn on my heel and walk out of the condo, briefly letting my anger dull the pain of my broken heart.

In case that's not enough Jesse for you…

The second of Jesse's bonus Friends Like This POV is now available. This one comes from a pivotal chapter in Falling Like This.

Coming hang out with me in person…

I am super excited to announce my very first author signing event will be Rockin Romance Readers in Knoxville TN on August 3rd 2024. Tickets are available right now! If you want a chance to hang out with me, be sure to grab yours now!

Another fabulous new release

If you love small town romance as much as I do, check out this new release from Saylor Ann, Give Me a Minute.

Peyton
Dating my friend's brother is not ideal.
Fake dating him is perhaps the craziest thing I've ever done.
I’ve spent the last year thinking Theo Porter hated me. His brooding blue eyes, constant glares and aloofness whenever we've been in the same room were reason enough for me to believe it. And after his time as a combat medic in the military, who could blame him for being reserved?
If there's one thing my remaining family taught me, it's that I’m not an easy person to like, or even love. After my mom’s death, my dad spent the rest of my childhood making himself a new family, with me as the leftovers from his previous life.
When my dad tells me I’m expected to attend my step brother's wedding, I’m desperate for someone to go with. However, I don’t want to subject any of my friends to my father’s belittling, so I accept that I’ll go alone.
Until Theo unexpectedly offers to play a convenient part.

Theo
I'm determined to prove to Peyton that she’s deserving of love, and I'll do anything to help her realize it. Even offer myself up to play the part of her fake boyfriend to help her with her awful family. After watching her from afar for a year, I’m intrigued by everything about her, so I don’t hesitate at the opportunity to play the part of her fake boyfriend. With her beautiful blue eyes, blonde hair, and curves, I’m all too willing. She's put up walls that make her hard to read, and even harder to reassure her that she isn't an inconvenience; far from it. I can't help the way I'm drawn to her and immediately yearning for something more.

Author’s Note: Give Me A Minute deals with subjects that may be triggering to some, including flashbacks of combat, a scene that depicts the death of a parent by breast cancer, bullying from a step sibling, and feelings of disapproval from a parent/stepparent. There is also a brief mention of an infant death, however it is not shown on page. Please only continue if you feel that you are able to read this book. The last thing I want to do is inadvertently harm someone.

Welcome back to Cinder Valley! While this book is considered a standalone, it is the third in an interconnected series, and it is highly recommended to read books one and two, Tip Of My Tongue, and How Do I Tell You? first.

Finally, don't forget to check out The Forever Fight playlist. I know I always say each one is a favorite, but this truly is in my top 3 and one I listen to regularly!

That's it for me this week! Are you excited about Jesse and Dani? I hope you love their spicy frenemies to lovers romance. I'm still hyped about fall, and can't wait to to enjoy all the fun fall activities coming soon. What's next for you? What fall books are on your TBR? (As always you can reply to these emails and I'll see it! I read every one!)

Behind the scenes with me

Want to know what I'm working on right now? Listening to? Reading? What's rumbling around in my head? Well, I'm going to tell you anyway!

  • Currently working on: Friends Like This book 8 🙃 

  • Currently distracting me from those things: Sickness. My little one brought some lovely germs home from his first week at school.

  • Currently reading: Beta reading for a friend

  • Currently listening to: The Friend Zone audiobook from Abby Jimenez. I’m obsessed with anything Teddy Hamilton narrates right now.

If you want more fun behind the scenes info, make sure you join my FB reader group, Bethany’s Book Besties! It's where we talk about books, romance, my characters & their love stories, and where I share random unedited snippets of what I'm working on and other fun teases! And this year there might be an exclusive giveaway or two as well!

Until next time, take care & happy reading…